Skip to content

When the rug gets pulled out from under you….

May 31, 2012

Life throws curve balls…

  • Divorce
  • Death
  • Job loss
  • Severe illness
  • (add your own…)

For many, the temptation is to do something, anything, to feel better, make it better, hope it feels better. You know, that feeling of control in the midst of losing control. It’s natural to feel this way. But is that a good course of action?

I’ve heard it said that in the middle of crisis is the worse possible time to make major decisions. I agree. In my own life, I’ve been faced with 2 of the 4 bullet points above. I wanted to run fast anywhere but where I was.

Fortunately, I didn’t do it.

If you’re faced with a personal crisis, slow down and try this:

  • God is in Control – it may not feel like it, but He is. He knows. He listens. He cares. He loves. He is in control. What you are going through did not surprise Him. And where you are going…He’s already there.
  • Stay connected – don’t push your friends (your true friends) away from you. They are good sounding boards. They will provide the needed perspective that you may have lost temporarily.
  • Journal – this sounds simple, but recording your thoughts and feelings on paper (or electronically) is a good exercise that can take the heavy stuff off of your mind. Years from now, you can look back at where you’ve come from and see the growth. Sometimes the most effective learning takes place during our darkest hours.
  • Stay healthy – get some exercise. Don’t eat like there’s no tomorrow. If you’re prone to drink, have a friend keep you accountable. A good walk/run can clear your head, mind, and spirit.
  • Power through with the Positive – listen to uplifting music. Read inspiring books. Your mind is a battle ground. A lot of negative, draining thoughts can overwhelm you. Fight to replace them with thoughts and truth that will build you up. It won’t happen overnight, but you will see the light again.
  • Understand the Process – in the middle of turmoil, your life will feel like a bubbling, boiling cauldron of stuff. A counselor once share this with me. He said I’ll feel like I have to deal with the entire pot all at once. I didn’t have to. As stuff floated to the top, he helped me address it and work through. More stuff followed. Eventually, there was no more stuff and pot stopped boiling. Take it a day at a time.
  • Make the Mental Choice – this same counselor shared this with me. When faced with terrible things in life, I can do one of 3 things as I move on (yes, I had to move on): rehearse it (repeat the hurt over and over again), nurse it (have a perpetual pity party), or reverse it (find my new normal and move on). Choose to reverse it.
  • Be There for Someone Else – as you grow through the crisis, realize that God can use you to help someone else out in the future. It will happen (it’s happening with me tomorrow!)

From → Spiritual

Leave a Comment

Your thoughts?

