Skip to content

Before There Was Light…

May 21, 2012

As I was driving my kids to school today, I reminded them that tomorrow was “Field Day” at school.  Karsten cheered.  Hannah said, “I don’t like that day.”

“Why?” I asked.

“‘Cause I have to be outside all day and it’s hot.”

“Well, tomorrow is only going to be around 70, so I think you’ll be ok.”  She seemed relax a bit.

Then I explained that I had Field Day when I was in school.  The kids were a bit surprised. “But there was a lot of things we didn’t have when I was your age.  Color TV.  Computers and laptops.  The Internet.  Cell phones. iPads. All of these things we use every day…we didn’t have them. ”

Hannah then asked, “Did you have lights?”

Ok, so now my daughter thinks her dad is from the Middle Ages!  “Of course we had lights!”

Then she asked, “Who was that guy who invented the light bulb?”

“Thomas Edison?  Is that who you’re asking about?”

“Yeah, so he alive when you were a kid, right?”

“NO!  I’m not that old!”

History fun fact:  Thomas Edison (1847-1931)

Before there was light…geesh!

 

From → Family

Leave a Comment

Your thoughts?

