Skip to content

Weakness

December 28, 2011

“You lift me up when I am weak
Your arms wrap around me
Your love catches me so I’m letting go
You lift me up when I can’t see
Your heart is all that I need
Your love carries me so I’m letting go”

A group called The Afters sing these lyrics. I was just listening to this on the radio this morning while I’m finishing breakfast and coffee.  It got me thinking…

Most men want to be known for anything other than weak.  Clint Eastwood didn’t say, “go ahead…make my day…if you want to…”  No, he threatened the thug from the other end of that impressive gun.  No weakness there.

So what’ s up with these lyrics?  Admit weakness?  Letting someone…SomeOne…catch me?  Letting go?  That doesn’t sound strong or manly at all.  Shouldn’t the lyrics read:

You build me up when I am strong
Your arms help me to fight
Your power reaches me so I’m striving on…

That sounds more like the American male than the original version, right?  Who needs this weakness thing?  Who you callin’ weak, foo?!  (that sounds better when you read it like Mr. T)

Well, as I’ve been thinking about 2012 and what I need to become, I think these lyrics fit.  I was reading the other day “7 Habits of Highly Effective People” (yes, I’ve never read this book) and in it Covey talked about being self-aware.  He’s right in what he says – we need to be self-aware if we want to improve.  And for me, I need to recognize that I am weak.  I’ve always known it.  I even sang about it when I was a kid…”little ones to Him belong, they are weak but He is strong…”

If I have any hope of becoming what God has intended for me to become, I think I need to start here – weakness.  I can act like I’ve got it all together, but He and I both know that most of the time, I don’t.  I yell at my kids too much.  I don’t love my wife like she deserves.  I am not the friend I should be.  I am not in shape.  I watch too much TV.  My spiritual life is tepid. I am weak.

My goal is not necessarily to become strong in 2012.  Oh, I plan to improve in the areas of weakness I just mentioned.  But my goal is to better recognize my weakness and my dependence upon the One who is truly strong and lean on Him more.  I think I’ll start here.  I’m letting go…

Be faithful in small things because it is in them that your strength lies.  (Mother Teresa)

From → Spiritual

Leave a Comment

Your thoughts?

